History

Innovating since 1933

SOCEA traces its history back to 1933, when its pipe factory was built in Oelegem (Belgium). The site has been the heart of the company ever since, making innovation, research and development its top priority.

1933

The French group Pont-à-Mousson (now Saint-Gobain) establishes the Société Anversoise de Fabrications Industrielles (SAFI). In Oelegem, 20 km east of the Belgian harbour city of Antwerp and along the Albert Canal, a manufacturing plant is built to produce steel core concrete pipes. These pipes are the very best in leak and vapour-proof high-pressure water pipes.

1944-45

The plant is destroyed during World War II but subsequently rebuilt.

1958

The plant is shut down temporarily because of a dramatic decrease in the demand for steel core concrete pipes. However, the installations continue to be maintained to enable a rapid restart when demand resumes.

1964

The plant resumes its activities under the name SOCEA. It wants to tender for the 1050 mm diameter steel core concrete pipes required for the Elst-Espinette water supply around Ghent. One year later, production is diversified to include reinforced concrete jacking pipes and other products. From now on, SOCEA promotes itself as a leading supplier of integrated solutions for pressure conduits. The company invests heavily in research & development for new production techniques.

1972

SOCEA starts producing reinforced concrete pipes, jacking pipes and steel core concrete pipes with large diameters (more than 2500 mm). In the late 1970s, SOCEA supplies steel core concrete pipes for the cooling water circuits at the Doel and Tihange nuclear power stations. Production is further diversified to include gravity drainage pipes and prefab tramways.

1976

SOCEA is taken over by Denys but continues to operate independently, supplying most of the leading contractors in the European market.

2000

Following a management buy-out, SOCEA becomes an independent company within the group Denys Global. It ranks among the top players in Europe when it comes to large diameter pipes. R&D remains a top priority and enables the development of innovative ideas and project-specific solutions.

L'histoire

Innovation depuis 1933

L'histoire de SOCEA remonte à 1933 avec la construction d'une fabrque de tuyaux à Oelegem (Belgique). Jusqu'à aujourd'hui, ce site est le cœur battant de l'entreprise où l'innovation, la recherche et le développement en sont les atouts.

1933

Le groupe français Pont-à-Mousson (actuellement Saint-Gobain) fonda la Société Anversoise les Fabrications Industrielles (SAFI). Il fut construit à Oelegem, à 20km à l'est de la ville portuaire d'Anvers, sur les rives de Canal Albert, une usine de production de tuyaux ATO (Ame-Tôle comme ordinairement appelée ou tuyaux à âme en tôle), la crème de la crème en matière de tuyaux étanches sous haute pression de vapeur ou d'eau.

1944 à 1945

L'usine est détruite pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale puis reconstruite.

1958

L'usine est temporairement fermée parce que la demande pour les tubes âme en acier est considérablement réduite. Les installations sont soigneusement entretenues en prévision d'un redémarrage rapide en cas de reprise de la demande.

1964

L'usine est redémarrée sous le nom SOCEA à l'occasion de la soumission publique portant sur l'achat de tubes à âme en tôle de 1050 mm de diamètre dans l'intérêt du réseau de distribution d'eau Elst Espinette près de Gand. Un an plus tard, la production fut également diversifiée, avec entre autres, les tuyaux de fonçage en béton armé. SOCEA se présente dès lors comme un puissant fournisseur de solutions globales pour les canalisations sous pression. Il est toujours plus investi dans la recherche et le développement et les nouvelles techniques de production.

1972

SOCEA produit maintenant des tuyaux en béton armé, des tuyaux de fonçage et des âmes tôles de grand diamètres (plus de 2500 mm). Plus tard, dans les années soixante SOCEA fournit les âmes tôles pour les circuits d'eau de refroidissement dans le Doel et Tihange. La production est plus diversifié avec des tuyaux pour les égouts et les éléments préfabriqués pour la pose de voies de métro et tram.

1976

SOCEA est rachetée par les Denys, mais reste une entreprise indépendante qui fournit les plus grands entrepreneurs européens.

2000

Après un management buy-out SOCEA devient une société indépendante au sein du groupe Denys Global. Elle figure parmi les leaders en Europe dans le domaine des tuyaux de grand diamètre. La R&D reste une priorité absolue qui laisse lace aux innovations, aux des solutions spécifiques au projet et les "in situ".